University Information

Georgia State University is one of the nation’s premier urban research universities. As the second largest of 35 institutions within the University System of Georgia, Georgia State enrolls about 10 percent of all students in accredited higher education in Georgia. The main campus is in downtown Atlanta; a second facility, the Alpharetta Center, provides graduate-level and continuing education courses in a north-metro suburb.

The University is within an hour’s commute of over five million citizens in the metropolitan-Atlanta area — more than half of the state’s population. Georgia State’s economic impact locally is more than $7 million daily. And, more than 150 area businesses employ 25 or more Georgia State alumni.

The University has eight college-level units: the College of Arts and Sciences, the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, the College of Education, the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions, the College of Law, the Institute of Public Health, the Honors College, and the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies. The colleges provide over 50 degree programs in more than 250 fields of study. Courses are offered from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., and many programs are offered part-time as well as full-time.

The total full-time instructional faculty numbered 1145 in the fall of 2011; 87 percent hold a doctorate, first-professional, or other terminal degree and 46 percent hold tenure.